Beach Day Lookbook: Gran Canarian Edition

Hello lovelies,

Starting off my ‘What I wore in Gran Canaria’ series, today I show what I wore on the beach. This was a perfect beach day as it was a fairly cloudy day which gave me chance to somewhat heal my sunburn a little but still enjoy the warm temperature.

IMG_7317

I have had this Primark buy, a long black slit skirt, in my wardrobe for a few years. I’ve never been too sure or confident in wearing it because I am short and feared the ultimate ‘trip-and-fall’ in public. I also feared the underskirt would rise up (which it did, plenty). However, upon planning my holiday outfits, I really wanted to invest in a sarong but when I caught sight of this skirt in my wardrobe, I realised this finally had some wearing potential. Not only would it look seriously glamorous on the beach, but it will also save me money in the process. Even when the underskirt did rise, it was pretty acceptable considering there was a strong presence of the nudist community on the same beach earlier that day. I wore bikini bottoms for extra protection.

IMG_7294

Black in the summer is an entirely new concept for me – even buying my first black bikini (£12.99, h&m), the same one in this picture, came as a shock. But I have to say I felt incredibly comfortable and chic wearing all black on the beach, though this is probably because the contrasting mesh skirt provided a break-up dynamic to the overall look.  Additionally, the long layers of fabric, when moved by the wind, made me feel super feminine, almost to the point where I should have been walking in slow-motion.

 

IMG_7301

Also, since my trip to Bulgaria last year, I’ve hoarded metallic stick-on tattoos in hopes of someday wearing them. While I may have gone a little mad in wearing them (the gold leaves on my chest we’re not necessary), I think they looked appropriate to the outfit and the rocky terrain, especially the ones on my thigh. The fact those tattoos in particular could only be seen when my skirt was flowing in the right direction, added a special element to the outfit also. Though, next time, I probably would not want to wear those near sand again because of the intensive scrubbing labour that involved later that night. Sand and stick-on tattoos do not mix. Repeat and learn.

IMG_7228

What do you plan on wearing to the beach this year?

Love,

 

,lea-x

 

12 thoughts on “Beach Day Lookbook: Gran Canarian Edition

Leave a Reply

