A Vegan Subscription Box!? Review

Aloha buddies!

I have a serious appreciation for subscription snack-boxes. Getting food in the mail is as much excitement as my life gets sometimes which is why when I came across a Vegan subscription box service called Earlybird, I felt compelled to throw away yet more of my money on food  to support cruelty-free industries and to get more yummy goodness in my tummy.

Before I move on, Earlybird are not solely a Vegan company, upon online registering you can select you’re dietary preferences ( “Vegan”, “Vegetarian”, “Can eat anything”) as well as having the choice to eliminate gluten, eggs, dairy, nuts and soya. This versatility is great for  anybody, but especially for people like me who are vegan but also have a nut allergy, because theres literally no fuss of having to hunt foods down in the supermarket or feel like I’m hassling staff in restaurants. I choose my dietary preferences and my snack surprise will arrive when expected. Also, all snacks are without refined sugars, artificial sweeteners, preservatives, flavours or colours and nutritionist approved, which means you know the food you’re eating is great for you as part of a healthy lifestyle.

13054904_10209465825942226_58575172_o

I don’t know why, but I always feel a little happier when I see my name embellished on things, it sounds absolutely ridiculous, but I don’t think i’m the only one. Anyway, what I mean to say is that it’s a really nice touch, especially when the colour scheme is on point.

The first thing I noticed was heaps of dry fruit, which are my staple, but my eyes in particular wandered to Not an Aussi (dried Kiwi crisps)  and Cho-kale-et chips (Cacao, cinnamon and kale). Dried kiwi is rare to come by in the dried fruit section of supermarket and I had been hearing a lot about the benefits of cacao powder, so having these in my box we’re fantastic for allowing me to try new food. They tasted really delicious, although the Cacao took a little while to adapt my tastebuds to because it has a really sharp taste that can’t  really be compared to anything. Regardless it had an interesting detoxing effect on my body, if thats worth anything to you.

I do love my dry fruit but I found one major downfall to these fruit boxes: I hate coconut. I found that the Earlybird box incorporates a lot of coconut in their snack boxes, for example the coco- Cranberry (Cocounut bites). I did try the bites, and they have a great soft but crumbly texture for those who like the sound of that, but personally  it really isn’t my favourite and so I ended up wasting half of each snack box eating around it.

The second box contained my staples of dried fruit  again as well as  Shmokin’Peas, which remind me of my Graze box favourite BBQ Smokehouse Crunch, which were delicious, apart from the coconut of course. I also really appreciated seeing a  new food I hadn’t previously tried which was the Berry chia pud and I was really excited to try this. However, the one thing that was missing from this box was instructions on how to make the pudding and had to revisit the website to find the instructions, which I feel was a little unnecessary  for Snacks-on-the-go. This isn’t a deal breaker by no means, but I do hope Earlybird include instructions in physical copy just for ease of use. As for the taste, it turns out I also didn’t like it, probably because of the coconut flavouring, but the purple colour was beautiful and I really appreciate having tried a variety of new foods!

I also can not complain with having a new tea to try every week, which is unique to this snack subscription box. It was so beautifully packaged and of high quality, there are no complaints.

 

Overall, I really enjoyed trying out Earlybird snack boxes and having the ability to really make the boxes fit my dietary preferences, more so than you can do with other boxes such as Graze. The ever-changing colour schemes of each box was a beautiful feature of   personalisation and knowing they could be recycled was a reminder that not only was i doing my body good but the environment too.  I do wish snack boxes contained a little less coconut as well as instructions and a full list of ingredients in the box (instead of just online) but that is something I feel will be rectified in the near future. If you wish to try this box, I have a code and you can get your first box half price: Leann-1699

 

I hope you enjoyed this review!

lea-x

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “A Vegan Subscription Box!? Review

  1. I’ve tried a snack box subscription before, but was disappointed and eventually cancelled it because there was just too much in it that I simply wasn’t interested in. This one looks great though, and I really like the presentation. And I love the inclusion of a new weekly tea sample! What kind of teas have they sent you?

    Like

Leave a Reply

